June 15, 2024 June 15, 2024

 Brooks Bandits receive AJHL awards for Scoring Champion, Leading Goal Scorer and Top Team Goaltenders

Posted on 3 March 2022 by Prairie Post

McAllister Captures Scoring Title, Hughes Wins Leading Goal Scorer Honours, Beckford and Barwick Earn Top Team Goaltenders Award

Brooks Bandits forward, Ryan McAllister, is the 2021-22 AJHL Scoring Champion and winner of the Ernie Love Trophy with 139 points (57G, 92A).   The Western Michigan University commit is the first AJHL player to score over 130 points in a season since the 1997-98 season.

McAllister (London, ON) broke the Bandits record for most points in a season and is just the second Bandit to score 50 goals in a season.  He averaged 2.3 points per game, recorded 42 multi-point games and completed the season with a 12-game point streak.

McAllister was named as the 2021-22 Team MVP and is also a finalist for the AJHL MVP Award. The 20 year-old was selected as the Alberta Ford Dealers AJHL Player of the Month twice, received the Pizza 73 AJHL Player of the Week award five times, and was the Viterra AJHL Star of the Game in 10 games.

He’s the fourth Bandit player to capture the AJHL Scoring Title in franchise history.

Brooks Bandits forward TJ Hughes has captured the Leading Goal Scorer Award with 66 goals in the 2021-22 regular season. He is the first AJHL player to reach the 60-goal mark since the 2000-01 season and has set the team record for most goals in a season.

Hughes was second overall in the AJHL Scoring Race with 127 points (66G, 61A) and an average of 2.1 points per game. The 20 year-old scored seven hat tricks and a league-leading 10 game winning goals.  He will enter the AJHL Record Book with the eighth most goals scored in a single season and third in the category of powerplay goals in a single season with 28.

TJ Hughes (Hamilton, ON) received the 2021-22 Top Forward Award for the Bandits and is a finalist for the AJHL Top Forward Award.  He was recognized as the Viterra AJHL Star of the Game 15 times in 2021-22.

Goaltenders Ethan Barwick and Maxwell Bedford are the recipients of the CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award, which is presented annually to the goaltenders of the team with the lowest goals against average (GAA) in the regular season.  The Brooks Bandits allowed just 130 goals against with a 2.17 GAA in the 2021-22 campaign.

Ethan Barwick (St. Albert, AB) posted a record of 33-4-1 for the first place Bandits.  The 19 year-old recorded four shutouts and a league-leading 2.32 GAA.  Goaltender Maxwell Bedford (London, ON) also recorded four shutouts and boasted a record of 21-3-3.  The 19 year-old was sixth among AJHL netminders with a 2.55 GAA.

This marks the fourth time a Bandit goaltending duo has won the CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award.

The Brooks Bandits captured the Dave Duchak Trophy as the 2021-22 AJHL Regular Season Champions for the fifth time in franchise history and have earned a bye in Round One of the 2022 AJHL Playoffs.  A complete schedule for the 2022 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs is available on the AJHL website AJHL.ca.

Leave a Reply

Get More Prairie Post
Log In To Comment Latest West Edition Latest East Edition